Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Finally: Sex & the City

Rumor has it, if you want to know about single women, you better watch this hit TV series.

Sure have seen some of the episodes of Dawson’s Creek & Charmed but really, was never a fan of this, or any TV series that I’d spend 30 hours & kill my time for the next episode to come out. Web says it’s 1st episode aired on 1999 which was what? , A decade ago? And I was like what? 18 y/o? Now that explains… (Anime not included, another story yet to be told)

So, why the sudden change of mind? When I got back from a year assignment & rent MY OWN apartment, that’s makes me licensed single, aight? And right now, I’m starting to clinch to & enjoy that reality. It’s both boring & fun. Without a question mark?

I tried to bring back my old binders & stuffs, which includes old DVDs. Although I brought LOST from .my, I stopped at the end of Season 2 and asked a friend for the latest seasons 3 & 4. Now as I wait for that, I got stuck with paperbacks. Believe me, when you work 9 hrs a day & some things aren’t permissible, sometimes you needed a full diversion, if not a little. And in as much as I love books & dreamt of having my own library of fave novels, I just needed to watch something. Something I haven’t seen that I can relate to.

Tada! As I browse these DVD binders, I saw Sex & the City, complete 6 seasons (I hope)! Though a little appalling & works best with ages 30 above, I’m rapt without second thoughts. It’s a minute everything a single, professional, independent & liberated woman is. Yeah, without Carrie’s shoes, of course. I need to add liberated because where I came from, they will never allow showing their boobies & some adult language on television. It’s still the only Catholic country in Asia. Good thing this is DVD so it’s the uncut version.

I’m nearly at the end of Season 2 and my LOST seasons 2 &3 came just this morning. Ambiguity hits me. Which one to finish first? There’s this episode where cheating was the subject. And as Miranda decided to stop pretending, I guess I’m gonna do just that.

Two of the certain things here about women are falling in and out of love & thinking of a happy ever after. I’ve a number of fave quotes but there’s also a lot of it on the web, so JGIS.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Bike & Bus


“Wake up! Get up!”, says Dull Sound. I was starting to think we’ve never been friends. Never will. Well, DS’s only doing his job so….

Heavy-eyed, I reached for my bedside clock looking at the time: 0530H. Damn, it’s still dark. Why the hell did I set it up that early? And what day was it? What did I do the night before? Fastest way to figure out what’s happening was check the calendar & latest SMS.

I sluggishly showered, dressed up & finally hit the road.

On my way, I thought of buying a bike. From and to work. Steering clear of walking when the sun is soooo up at 34degC & PUVs passenger pick up/stops. Ogling at the biker, I picture myself with his gears. Helmet, jacket, jeans & fashion accessories. Hmnn.. the puny(?) me on his bike.

Last time I strived was 2 yrs ago. Sure I deftly drove the baby but the owner was near having a heart attack coz soon as I rode, he asked me if I have a driver’s license & I said “Yes, but this is my first time driving a bike”.

And I still have my 1st ever bike scar, lower left leg though it faded a little. I was a back rider & my driver was 6’ tall so he didn’t notice my leg was still on the ground. I think it was the carburetor which touched my lovely sensitive skin. Hehehe..

And who’s ever gonna forget how me & my Taiwanese girl friend were almost hit by a car just because we can’t help but drool over that chick crossing the street? Man, she’s wearing the shortest & whitest skirt, 3” high shoes & yellow top! Who the hell’s not gonna look? Whew! (grin) Headlines: TWO YOUNG PRETTY WOMEN BIKERS DIED, DROOLING OVER ANOTHER PRETTY GIRL. For the win! The only rational explanation why the car driver didn’t see her was because he’s coming from the other road.

Did I tell you my cousin was once hospitalized biking with 2 female back-rides? They were thrown from the bang, good thing they’re all safe though he was confined for 2 weeks tops. A year after that, my brother followed. Full story’s vague. I was abroad and my parents didn’t want to tell me. Well, secrets be told, I eventually found out about it coz they ran out of money for the hospital bills. J Couple of years after the incident, I voiced out how I badly needed a bike, my brother’s refusal was at a medium high level.

Well, I was just thinking. Instead of daily sauntering.

Okay… as I get closer to where I’m going and still gaping at the bike this time, I’ve a feeling the rider is scrutinizing me when me made a stop. Traffic! It’s weekend, 630AM, summer for students… there’s probably an accident. And I was apparently right.

To my dismay, there rest on his chest, a man (30-35 y/o) with his blood coming out from his face and head, in the middle of the highway. His headgear was 3meters crushed away from he laid. His driver, I presume, was a meter away from him stood with blank face. Another biker got off from his bike and poked the man saying “Uyy.. Uyy.. Ok ka lang?” but the man, still eyes closed, didn’t answer.

Around 200 meters where the accident was, I need to get off the jeep myself. And as I say “para ho!”, I thought of another bike accident back in Malaysia. The man was around 50-60 y/o then and just the same, has blood underneath his body.

Now, to end my confusion, I am certainly not buying or renting (if I can help it) a bike for myself. All signs are there, if I’m ever looking for one. I’ve been to a bus accident as well where the tricyle driver laid on the bus entrance with his blood spilling out of his mouth & other body parts. I was seated at the back of the bus driver, how’s that?

That makes no bike & no bus driving for me. End of discussion.

Mario Bros. Game

 
speaKai © 2008 Template by Exotic Mommie Illustration by Dapina